UK Temu seller consultants
Start free trial

Seller Spring/Data

DatasetFrom gov.uk, checked weekly

VAT for UK marketplace sellers, rule by rule

When you have to register, when the marketplace collects the VAT instead of you, the rates for common seller categories, and what platforms now report to HMRC. Each rule links to its gov.uk page with the date we last checked it.

Registered, or not yet?Both are covered here.

01The big question

Who accounts for the VAT on a marketplace sale?

Seller established in the UK

gov.uk ties the marketplace VAT rules to sellers not established in the UK. A UK business follows the normal rules and registers once taxable turnover passes £90,000 in 12 months, or is expected to in the next 30 days.

Seller based outside the UK

Must register for UK VAT whatever its turnover. The marketplace is liable for VAT on consignments of £135 or less sent from outside the UK, and on goods of any value already in the UK at the point of sale.

02Every rule

The rules, with their sources

Jump to a topic, or filter by a word such as threshold, flat rate or report.

TopicThe ruleWho it applies toOfficial source
VAT registration thresholdYou must register for VAT if taxable turnover for the last 12 months goes over £90,000, or you expect it to in the next 30 days.Great BritainUk-Established SellerRegister for VAT · gov.uk updated 2024-10-10 · checked
VAT registration thresholdThe registration threshold rose to £90,000 and the deregistration threshold to £88,000 from 1 April 2024.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT: increasing the registration and deregistration thresholds · gov.uk updated 2024-03-07 · checked
VAT registration thresholdOverseas businesses supplying goods or services to the UK must register regardless of turnover.Great BritainOverseas SellerRegister for VAT · gov.uk updated 2024-10-10 · checked
VAT deregistration thresholdIf taxable turnover falls below £88,000 you can ask HMRC to cancel registration, unless you are based outside the UK and supply goods or services to the UK.Great BritainUk-Established SellerRegister for VAT · gov.uk updated 2024-10-10 · checked
VAT deregistration thresholdCancellation of registration is optional below £88,000 turnover.Great BritainUk-Established SellerHow VAT works · gov.uk updated 2024-10-24 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersGoods in a consignment worth £135 or less that start outside the UK and are sold through a marketplace to GB customers have UK VAT charged at the point of sale.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersFor those goods the marketplace, not the seller, is liable for the VAT.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersThe £135 limit applies to the total consignment being imported, not to individual items.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersThe marketplace is also liable for VAT on goods of any value that are already in the UK at the point of sale and are sold by an overseas business.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersFor goods in the UK, the overseas seller is treated as making a zero-rated supply to the marketplace, which then accounts for the VAT on the sale to the customer.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersConsignments worth more than £135 follow normal import VAT and customs rules.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersWhere a UK VAT-registered business customer gives its VAT number, the marketplace need not charge VAT on consignments of £135 or less. The customer accounts for it instead.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersA business is only a marketplace if it sets terms, is involved in payments and is involved in ordering or delivery. Payment processing, listing only or redirecting only do not make it one.Great BritainMarketplaceCharging VAT when using an online marketplace to sell goods to customers in the UK · gov.uk updated 2025-06-20 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersOverseas sellers who only make zero-rated deemed supplies can either register for VAT or apply for exemption from registration.Great BritainOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersAn overseas seller that owns goods of any value in the UK at the point of sale must register and account for VAT on direct sales to customers in GB or NI.Great BritainOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold directly to customers in the UK · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Online marketplaces: overseas sellersFor direct sales of consignments of £135 or less from outside the UK to GB customers, the seller charges UK VAT at the point of sale.Great BritainOverseas SellerVAT and overseas goods sold directly to customers in the UK · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
UK-established sellers on marketplacesThe marketplace accounting rule is tied to sellers not established in the UK. A seller with a real UK establishment follows the normal registration rules. This second sentence is an inference from the guidance, not a quoted gov.uk statement.Great BritainUk-Established SellerMarketplaceVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
UK-established sellers on marketplacesA UK business establishment exists where management decisions are made and central administration is carried out, or where there is a fixed establishment with staff and resources in the UK.Great BritainUk-Established SellerOverseas SellerCharging VAT when using an online marketplace to sell goods to customers in the UK · gov.uk updated 2025-06-20 · checked
UK-established sellers on marketplacesIf you use the Flat Rate Scheme, marketplace or business-customer sales where someone else accounts for the VAT are left out of the scheme calculation.Great BritainUk-Established SellerCharging VAT when using an online marketplace to sell goods to customers in the UK · gov.uk updated 2025-06-20 · checked
Northern Ireland differencesNorthern Ireland only: for goods in NI at the point of sale to an NI customer, the marketplace is liable if the seller is not established in the UK or EU. A UK or EU established seller is liable itself.Northern IrelandMarketplaceUk-Established SellerOverseas SellerCharging VAT when using an online marketplace to sell goods to customers in the UK · gov.uk updated 2025-06-20 · checked
VAT rates for common seller categoriesThe standard VAT rate is 20% on most goods and services.Great BritainUk-Established SellerOverseas SellerVAT rates · gov.uk updated 2014-12-12 · checked
VAT rates for common seller categoriesBooks, magazines, newspapers and children's picture books are zero-rated.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT rates on different goods and services · gov.uk updated 2026-07-10 · checked
VAT rates for common seller categoriesBabywear, children's clothes and children's footwear are zero-rated.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT rates on different goods and services · gov.uk updated 2026-07-10 · checked
VAT rates for common seller categoriesPrams and pushchairs are standard-rated at 20%.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT rates on different goods and services · gov.uk updated 2026-07-10 · checked
VAT rates for common seller categoriesZero-rated and reduced-rate examples on gov.uk's summary page include most food and children's clothes at zero, and children's car seats at 5%.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT rates · gov.uk updated 2014-12-12 · checked
VAT on marketplace fees and services from overseasFor business-to-business services the place of supply is where the customer belongs, and the customer accounts for UK VAT through the reverse charge when the supplier is outside the UK.Great BritainUk-Established SellerPlace of supply of services (VAT Notice 741A) · gov.uk updated 2022-09-29 · checked
VAT on marketplace fees and services from overseasIf you only make UK services to which the reverse charge applies, you are not entitled to register for VAT in the UK for that.Great BritainOverseas SellerPlace of supply of services (VAT Notice 741A) · gov.uk updated 2022-09-29 · checked
Making Tax Digital for VATVAT-registered businesses are signed up to Making Tax Digital for VAT automatically on registration unless exempt, and must keep some VAT records digitally.Great BritainUk-Established SellerRegister for VAT · gov.uk updated 2024-10-10 · checked
Making Tax Digital for VATgov.uk says all VAT-registered businesses should now be signed up and no longer need to sign up themselves.Great BritainUk-Established SellerCharge, reclaim and record VAT · gov.uk updated 2024-10-30 · checked
Making Tax Digital for VATSome VAT records must be kept digitally unless you are exempt.Great BritainUk-Established SellerCharge, reclaim and record VAT · gov.uk updated 2024-10-30 · checked
Flat Rate SchemeYou can join the Flat Rate Scheme if you expect VAT taxable turnover of £150,000 or less, excluding VAT, in the next 12 months.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT Flat Rate Scheme · gov.uk updated 2024-11-11 · checked
Flat Rate SchemeA limited cost business pays 16.5%. That applies where goods cost less than 2% of turnover, or less than £1,000 a year if costs are above 2%.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT Flat Rate Scheme · gov.uk updated 2024-11-11 · checked
Flat Rate SchemeOn the scheme you cannot reclaim VAT on purchases, except certain capital assets over £2,000.Great BritainUk-Established SellerVAT Flat Rate Scheme · gov.uk updated 2024-11-11 · checked
VAT record-keepingVAT records must be kept for at least 6 years, or 10 years for the One Stop Shop schemes.Great BritainUk-Established SellerOverseas SellerCharge, reclaim and record VAT · gov.uk updated 2024-10-30 · checked
VAT record-keepingMarketplaces must keep full records, including VAT invoices, for 6 years from the date goods are sold.Great BritainMarketplaceVAT and overseas goods sold to customers in the UK using online marketplaces · gov.uk updated 2022-05-13 · checked
Marketplace due diligence and VAT numbersHMRC can hold a marketplace jointly and severally liable for unpaid VAT where an overseas seller should have registered and the marketplace knew or should have known.Great BritainMarketplaceCheck when online marketplaces must carry out VAT checks on overseas sellers · gov.uk updated 2020-12-31 · checked
Marketplace due diligence and VAT numbersA marketplace must display a verified VAT registration number on its website within 10 days of the seller giving it.Great BritainMarketplaceCheck when online marketplaces must carry out VAT checks on overseas sellers · gov.uk updated 2020-12-31 · checked
Marketplace due diligence and VAT numbersA marketplace must not let an overseas seller who has to be registered for UK VAT keep trading without a VAT registration number.Great BritainMarketplaceOverseas SellerCheck when online marketplaces must carry out VAT checks on overseas sellers · gov.uk updated 2020-12-31 · checked
Digital platform reporting rulesFrom 1 January 2024 platform operators in the UK may need to collect seller details and report them to HMRC.Great BritainMarketplaceOnline sellerSelling goods or services on a digital platform · gov.uk updated 2025-09-22 · checked
Digital platform reporting rulesA seller's details are not reported if they make fewer than 30 sales of goods in a calendar year and receive less than 2,000 euros (about £1,700) for them.Great BritainOnline sellerSelling goods or services on a digital platform · gov.uk updated 2025-09-22 · checked
Digital platform reporting rulesPlatform operators collect seller information each year and send it to HMRC by the following January.Great BritainMarketplaceSelling goods or services on a digital platform · gov.uk updated 2025-09-22 · checked
Digital platform reporting rulesHMRC shares seller information with the seller's country tax authority if that country follows the same rules.Great BritainOnline sellerSelling goods or services on a digital platform · gov.uk updated 2025-09-22 · checked
Digital platform reporting rulesPlatform operators must report sellers who actively supply or are paid for goods or services on the platform and live in the UK or another reportable jurisdiction.Great BritainMarketplaceCheck if you need to register as a digital platform operator · gov.uk updated 2026-07-21 · checked

Rules are summarised in our words and link to their gov.uk source. The exact wording we checked is in the downloads. This is a guide to HMRC's published guidance, not tax advice.

03Method

How we collect this

Every rule comes from a gov.uk page read through the GOV.UK Content API on our own server, with the sentence it rests on stored beside it. A checker reads each page again every week and records the date gov.uk says it was last updated.

If the sentence is still there, the check date moves forward. If it has gone, the rule is flagged and one of us rewrites it from the new page. Where gov.uk does not say something, such as how marketplace fees are taxed for every seller, we leave it out rather than guess.

FAQQuick answers

Questions

What is the UK VAT threshold?

You must register for VAT if your taxable turnover for the last 12 months goes over £90,000, or you expect it to in the next 30 days. The threshold rose to £90,000 from 1 April 2024.

Does the marketplace pay VAT for me?

Only in set cases for sellers not established in the UK: consignments of £135 or less sent from outside the UK, and goods of any value already in the UK sold by an overseas business. A UK-established seller follows the normal registration rules.

Do marketplaces report my sales to HMRC?

Since 1 January 2024 digital platforms may need to collect seller details and report them to HMRC each year. A seller is not reported if they make fewer than 30 sales of goods in a calendar year and receive less than 2,000 euros (about £1,700) for them.

Are children's clothes zero-rated?

Yes. Babywear and children's clothes and footwear are zero-rated in the UK, as are books. Children's car seats are at the 5% reduced rate, and prams and pushchairs at the standard 20%.

How long do I keep VAT records?

At least 6 years. VAT-registered businesses are signed up to Making Tax Digital for VAT and must keep some records digitally.

StartFree for 14 days

More sales on Temu. Less work for you.

Put your Amazon, eBay or Shopify products in front of Temu shoppers and pick up extra sales on top of the channels you already sell on.

Try any plan free for 14 days. Cancel before day 15 and you pay nothing.

Ready when you are.Let’s get you selling on Temu.